Your Child Could Be Arrested And Fined For Trick-Or-Treating In This Town!

It's not a joke!

October 10, 2018
Halloween

Dreamstime

Categories: 

Thank goodness this isn't in Florida, but the poor kids in Virginia that have to deal with this extreme law is ridiculous! There are actually a handful of towns where kids over 12 who go trick-or-treating can actually get fined and arrested!

One of those towns is Chesapeake, Virginia.  According to WSET, they have a statute that says anyone over 12 who goes trick-or-treating can be charged with a misdemeanor that carries a fine no less than $25 up to and no more than $100 and up to six months in jail or both! Yes, jail!

But that's not all, they don't have to be a teenager to get into trouble. The statute also reads that any child that does door-to-door trick-or-treating after 8PM can face a similar punishment! The fine is no less than $10 and up to $100 and up to 30 days in jail or both!

Related: